FIFA announces host cities for Women’s World Cup in 2019


In consultation with FIFA, the Executive Committee of the French Football Association (FFF) has selected the nine host cities that will stage the matches of the next FIFA Women’s World Cup in 2019.

As revealed in a FIFA statement, the host cities are: Grenoble, Le Havre, Lyon, Montpellier, Nice, Paris, Reims, Rennes and Valenciennes.

“It wasn’t an easy choice, as all of the dossiers presented by the candidate cities were of a high quality,” said FFF president Noël Le Graët.

“We are proud to be organizing the eighth FIFA Women’s World Cup, which will bring together 24 countries and attract many foreign visitors. This event will mobilize our cities, our regions, amateur and professional clubs and the people of France. Women’s football is on the rise, especially in France. I am convinced that the tournament will be a huge success, both from a sporting perspective and with the public.”

“This first step on the road to the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2019 is an important one, as the host cities play a major role in the success of the tournament,” added FIFA president Gianni Infantino.

“France has a wealth of experience in organizing international competitions and I am delighted that FIFA’s flagship competition for women’s football will benefit from it. There is no doubt that this World Cup will enable the women’s game to continue to flourish in France and around the world.”

June 21, 2017

Share this story:

About Author


Comments are closed.