SMA announces new board of directors


The Stadium Managers Association (SMA) has announced its 2019 board of directors following its annual vote, held at Hollywood Beach in Florida.

The organization, which provides industry resources to assist professional and collegiate stadium managers, has elected Matthew Kastel, stadium manager at Oriole Park at Camden Yards, as its president for 2019. Kastel replaces Troy Brown, VP of stadium operations for the Cleveland Browns, as president, and will serve a one-year term. The general election also appointed the following officers:

Joe Abernathy, Busch Stadium, as vice president; Mario Coutinho, Rogers Centre, as secretary/treasurer; and Kelsey Smith, CenturyLink Field, to serve on the SMA board of directors.

The board also recognized Tony Pereira, State Farm Stadium, home to the NFL’s Arizona Cardinals, for his service upon completion of two terms on the board of directors. Pereira also served as president of SMA in 2017.

Share this story:

About Author


James has been Editor of Stadia since 2018 having worked at print and digital magazines and websites around the world covering everything from lifestyle to sport, technology, motoring, and more. He also edits Electric & Hybrid Vehicle Technology International.

Comments are closed.