STMA announce award winners


Minor League Baseball will unveil this year’s winners of the Sport’s Turf Manager of the Year Awards (STMA) at a luncheon in Nashville, USA, on December 7.

Selected by a committee of 16 STMA members, the awards, which have been held since 2000, recognize the efforts of men and women who manage minor league baseball fields across five divisions.

Three of the four nominees have been acknowledged for their efforts in previous years, as they are multiple award winners.

The award winners include John Stewart (Syracuse Chiefs – top), Brock Phipps (Springfield Cardinals – above), Keith Winter (Fort Wayne Tincaps – below) and David Yearout (Spokane Indians – bottom).

Each nominee is independently scored on cultural practices, game-day routine, resource utilization, staff management and the groundskeeper’s involvement.

CEO of STMA, Kim Heck, said, “Each year, we highlight members in MiLB with the recognition they deserve for producing high-quality, safe and playable fields.

“In an industry where mother nature is unpredictable, these individuals find innovative and persistent ways to maintain excellent field conditions.”

By Ben Smith, Stadia

November 13, 2015

Share this story:

About Author


Comments are closed.